Hi. I realize things have been quiet here recently. I know this is my blog and I can come and go as I please, but I do feel I owe you an explanation. The fact is, a few months ago (on my birthday, actually, because that’s how much the universe loves me…) a member of my immediate family was diagnosed with a serious illness. Now, before you freak out (not that I expect you to) let me say that, according to the doctors, we are through the worst of it and well on the way to recovery.

That’s the good news. But, as you’d probably expect (and, as no doubt, some of you know from experience), news like that does give you pause. And you’re forced to reevaluate a lot of things. Things were pretty touch and go (often downright terrifying) for a while. The last few months have consisted of a lot of family time and not much else, because, when you’re forced to confront reality, you realize, not much else matters.

But, like I said, things are on the upswing. We’re not completely out of the woods yet (but then, when are we ever?). So, I’ll be working to ease my way back into this blog over the next few months. Though, it could take some time to get back into the swing of things. I hope you’ll bear with me. I will say, I’m pleased to see that site views haven’t really dropped off even though things have been quiet here. It makes me feel like we really have accomplished something good here in the last few years.

Thanks for your patience.

-Eric

P.S. Of course, if you’d like to help lighten the load, I am, as always, happy to accept guest posts. Email the.indie.handbook@gmail.com. Just, please don’t ask me if you can write a post to plug your own band. I think most of us would agree that that’s a little tacky. But then, if you’d like to address some sort of philosophical issue and use your own experience as a reference point, well, I’m all for that.

