I had something else scheduled to post today, but in light of recent events, I think there are more pressing issues at hand. By now, you are probably at least aware of hurricane Sandy and the damage it’s done in New York and all up and down the Eastern Seaboard, if not still soaking wet from it. Even I’ve been blown around a fair bit by the storm this week and I’m a good 500 miles away from the worst of it.

Among the New York neighborhoods hardest hit by Sandy is the Red Hook area of Brooklyn, which also happens to be the home of New Amsterdam Records. If you’ve read my stuff before, chances are you’ve at least heard me mention them. I think they are, by far, one of the most innovative labels around. According to an email I received this morning, the NewAm headquarters were devastated by four feet of sewage and seawater that flooded the converted warehouse space earlier this week. Among the casualties were many instruments, vintage synthesizers, and nearly 70% of their catalog of CDs (CDs which are officially owned by the artists, not by the label).

A swift cleanup will be vital, but expensive. In order to offset some of the cost of the recovery, NewAm have set up a Facebook page where you can learn more about exactly what happened, see photos of the damage, and donate to the recovery effort. Since NewAm is a non-profit, all donations should be tax deductible as far as I know (at least in the US).

Note: I’m sure New Amsterdam wasn’t the only small label severely affected by this megastorm. If you know other small labels or artists who suffered severe losses, let me know (email: the.indiehandbook@gmail.com). I’ll at least post a list or something.

